On Crack at Cracked Pepper

December 29, 2010 § 1 Comment

No, there is not a drug problem at Cracked Pepper Bistro. However, I love this place so much, one might call me addicted-as if I was on some kind of crack cocaine. You feel me?

The atmosphere is romantic and Vatche, the chef himself comes out to greet you after your meal. What a place! One of my top 5 restaurant picks for Fresno. I’m giving it a big I Heart Fresno heart attack.

Vatche, the owner and head chef at Cracked Pepper doesn’t mess around. He’s the real deal, folks. I think one of my favorite things about Vatche’s Restaurant is the fact that they cook for the season. Vatche uses almost all local produce! I see him at Farmer’s Market from time to time (bonus!). He changes his menu regularly so it’s always exciting to see the new food dishes he creates. His food is his art and I appreciate that very much. He also knows how to pair a good wine with your meal, so don’t hesitate to try something new.

Somewhat more pricey, Cracked Pepper is worth your buck. Chance and I went about a month ago before all the craziness with the holidays started and our bill was about $80 including tip. I grabbed a mixed green salad topped with lemon dressing. I also ordered one of my new favorites, the amazing walnut pumpkin soup. Chance ordered the filet with potatoes and ate it so fast I almost wasn’t sure if the plate ever hit the table.

For dessert we had bread pudding. And I didn’t take a picture of it, because to be honest, I just wanted to shove it in my mouth and not worry about snappin’ away. Do you like bread pudding? Well, I don’t either EXCEPT for Cracked Pepper’s bread pudding. I’m telling you, it’s the most amazing, most delicious, most incredible thing you will ever eat. Non-negotiable. Order it, you won’t be disappointed. And tell him Dominique from I Heart Fresno sent you.

Here I am with my head cut off.

And here are the better looking photos…

This pumpkin soup had chopped walnuts inside and was topped with a dollop of sour cream. UGH. One of my favorites.

And we have very exciting news for you, Vatce told us he’s opening a new restaurant over on Friant and Fort Washington. And we’ll be bringing you an exclusive peek at that location real soon!

P.S.- My hubby, Chance James has some of his paintings hanging in Cracked Pepper so be sure to check them out when you stop in!

I love you, Fresno. You’re alllllright.

❤ Dominique

Like Cracked Pepper

§ One Response to On Crack at Cracked Pepper

  • Layne says:

    One night, they were serving a savory bread pudding as a side with the short ribs. It was amazing as well. I was so full after the main course, I almost had to turn down the dessert bread pudding. Almost.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On Crack at Cracked Pepper at I Heart Fresno.

meta

